Bon Jovi, Aerosmith and U2 were the bands I listened to for hours on end, when I got my first radio for Christmas one year in the late 80’s. They were the first cassette tapes I bought with money I had earned from babysitting. I remember taping Much Music on our VCR all through the night, just so I could play their music videos over and over and over again. Certain songs still take me back to wonderful moments in my life, that I will never forget. If only I had seen these bands in person….my life would be complete! 😉

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Music has always been part of my life. It’s probably been a part of everyone’s lives. Whether you listen to Top 40 hits, the newest boy bands (anyone remember New Kids on the Block?), or even the classics of Mozart or Beethoven, music touches everyone’s lives in some way. Listening to music while you’re driving, in the bathroom having a shower, while you’re jogging, even while doing some household chores, everyone listens to and uses music in a variety of ways.

When you went to school as a young child, you sang the national anthem, O Canada. Throughout your school years, I’m sure you’ve had to opportunity to sing during music class, join the school choir, or even learn to play an instrument. (I could play a mean recorder when I was in Grade 4!) As you got older, schools would hold dances you  might have attended, including graduation dances.

My first jobs were working at fast food restaurants. I must admit listening to the ‘elevator’ music was not cool, but it was always better than nothing at all…nothing at all…nothing at all (sorry, a Simpsons moment). Listening to the radio at full blast when the Kentucky Fried Chicken store closed was always a good thing. Even my current job allows me to listen to the radio (on an online radio station, of course) while I work.

Before I was married, we had a ‘Stag and Doe’ party. It rocked! It was probably the best party I had ever been too, and I’m sure people still have stories about that night in 1996! The DJ played some great music, then a few months later, played again at my wedding. Music, dancing….it was awesome!

After I had my baby boys, I found myself singing to them as I held them. Then I found myself singing to the children’s television shows we were watching together. Recently I was reminded of a Blues Clues song that helped you remember the names and characteristics of the nine planets (before Pluto was outed). Even today, I can recite the entire lyrics to the opening songs of iCarly and The Witches of Waverly Place. Catchy, Jackson would call them.

Even movies are amazing for using great songs. If you can listen to a song and remember what movie featured that song, it definitely struck a chord with you. Think: Dirty Dancing, Pulp Fiction, Armageddon, Pretty in Pink, Good Morning Vietnam, Grease, even the High School Musical movies…the list is endless!

When you look at the music on my iPod, you can see it’s really not just 80’s music. Of course, there are my favourites from the 80’s such as Bon Jovi, Aerosmith, U2, Poison, Def Leppard, Motley Crue, Madonna, The Bangles, Corey Hart, Bryan Adams, but there are also tunes from Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Lady Gaga, Girl Talk, Shawn Kingston and KISS. Even though 80’s music rawked, I can still appreciate music from other times as well!

Whether it’s a commercial on television (I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas), the latest dance song (Fire Burning), or even the national anthem played before the beginning of a Blues Jays game, music is everywhere and it is great!

